Heber & Caroline – A Love Story – Letter Twelve 7/22/1924

When our mother passed away I was going through her things and found a stack of letters written by my maternal grandfather Heber to my maternal grandmother Caroline (aka Carrie). The letters cover an 18 month period during the great depression. My grandparents lived in Newfoundland and work was very scarce. Heber during this time stayed and worked in Massachusetts and Connecticut looking for whatever work he could find. Meanwhile Caroline stayed in Newfoundland with the children. Heber wrote Caroline a letter each month. The letters are very interesting as not only do they give a perspective of the time, it shows just how difficult life was. I will each Sunday include photos of the actual letters which I have transcribed with the help of my brother Dana Donovan and sister Barbara Ridgway. Although Heber’s handwriting is very pretty to look at, it can be difficult to read.

Here is letter twelve written 7/22/1924.

IMG_8114

My Dear Wife,

With pleasure I write you these few lines saying I am well trusting you and the children are the same. Haven’t anything strange to tell you at present. We are getting some very nice weather here just now. It is not so very hot just about right for working. I haven’t got any letter this week yet. I suppose I will get one pretty

IMG_8115

soon. I had one from Bill today. I guess there is plenty of work at Humber , that is more than here. I believe work is pretty dull around here, although I am working all this time. I heard Bill was going to the Humber. I don’t suppose he will be coming this way anymore. Well Dear I hope you are not working too hard at the gardens there. I suppose you have the hardest of it over for a while. You can let Charlie cut some of the hay for repairing the fence. Have they heard any news

IMG_8116

from Allen yet? All they boys are well. Tell Estelle I am going to write to her the next time I write you. Give my best respects to Mr. Ford and family and all friends.

I think I have said all for this time. Will write again soon.

From your loving and devoted husband,

Heber

xxxxxxxx

