Heber & Caroline – A Love Story – Letter Ten 6/30/1924

When our mother passed away I was going through her things and found a stack of letters written by my maternal grandfather Heber to my maternal grandmother Caroline (aka Carrie). The letters cover an 18 month period during the great depression. My grandparents lived in Newfoundland and work was very scarce. Heber during this time stayed and worked in Massachusetts and Connecticut looking for whatever work he could find. Meanwhile Caroline stayed in Newfoundland with the children. Heber wrote Caroline a letter each month. The letters are very interesting as not only do they give a perspective of the time, it shows just how difficult life was. I will each Sunday include photos of the actual letters which I have transcribed with the help of my brother Dana Donovan and sister Barbara Ridgway. Although Heber’s handwriting is very pretty to look at, it can be difficult to read.

Here is letter ten written 6/24/1924.

IMG_7903

My Dear Wife,

Just a few lines saying I am well trusting you are the same. Haven’t anything strange to tell you at present. It is certainly getting warm here now. I suppose it is getting warm down there by this time. How is everything going down there this summer? How is the garden growing? I hope you have a good crop this summer then it won’t take much for us this winter. I don’t think it will rot in the

IMG_7904

cellar this year if I can help it. I don’t intend staying here this winter. So you can depend that I will be home some time this fall. It will all depend on how the work goes. It is not very bright around here now and it doesn’t seem to be picking up any. I suppose it will be dull for a while until after elections at least. I am still working. What is your father and Harvey doing this summer? I suppose they are fishing. Is there lots of working doing at the Humber? What is Dolley doing this summer

IMG_7905

or is he gone to Toronto? All the boys are well as far as I know. They are all working. Give my best respects to all the family and friends. I think I have said all for this time. Will write again soon.

From your Loving & Devoted Husband

xxxxxxxxx

