Feeling Thankful and Blessed!

IMG_4144

The Christmas decorations are now away. And another year has passed.  Twelve more months have flown by and are now a memory. We are preparing to be buried by a blizzard that will hit overnight. Wood is stacked, fridge is full and we are waiting.

IMG_4149

Earlier I was thinking how fortunate I am in many small ways in my life. In the past year I no longer have to drive an hour and a half to work but can work from home in comfort. I don’t have to worry about the roads being slick and negotiating them for three hours a day. I just have to be concerned that I maintain an Internet connection.

IMG_4151

I may not be rich and live in a big mansion but I am rich in so many other ways. I think of how everyone in my immediate and extended family is healthy. I am so thankful for that. My 87 almost 88-year-old mother lives with us and remains very spry. My children are well and both have beautiful children of their own. We are able to see them often. I have opportunity to visit with my siblings, nieces, nephews and in-laws. We surround ourselves with some dear friends.

IMG_4157

Hubby and I are comfortable and are now at a point in our lives that we can do some traveling. We are presently planning a two-week trip next fall to France. Several days in Paris, the Loire Valley, and a visit with my friend Stephane Gabart at his families B&B. Truthfully I think I am most excited about that. You can follow Stephane at his remarkable blog My French Heaven. It will be a whirlwind trip but one I have been thinking about for a number of years.

IMG_4173

And so I am thankful and feel blessed for what I have and look forward to what will unfold over the upcoming twelve months.

IMG_4182

I hope you and your family had a wonderful holiday season and I wish you a Happy New Year!

IMG_4183

IMG_4184

IMG_4186

IMG_4188

IMG_4190

