Our Word View – Word of the Week = YOUTH

SUNDAY POSTING ~ A COLLABORATIVE BLOG BETWEEN TWO FRIENDS (ME AND MY FRIEND BARB) WHO’S PATHS WERE SEPARATED FOR 20+ YEARS AND HAVE FOUND ONE ANOTHER ONCE AGAIN ONLINE. BOTH SHARE A LOVE OF THE OCEAN, NATURE, FAMILY, PETS AND OF COURSE PHOTOGRAPHY! A FONDNESS FOR INSPIRATIONAL SAYINGS HAS SPARKED THIS PROJECT. EACH SUNDAY WE WILL POST THE “WORD OF THE WEEK” AND OUR INDIVIDUAL INTERPRETATION OF THE WORD VIA TWO SEPARATE PHOTOS ON OUR BLOG “OUR WORD VIEW”!

My daughter Allison & her daughter Emma.

My daughter Allison & her daughter Emma.

The word “YOUTH” is very appropriate for how I have been feeling lately! I don’t know what it is but this is the first year I have suddenly been really noticing my age. And I don’t mean physically. Yes I have the typical aches and pains of a body that is growing older. But what has really been hitting me is how I am simply getting older in age. I think having granddaughters as wonderful as it is has shown me how quickly time seems to be slipping away. I know I’m only 52 years old but I have become very nostalgic lately. I remember so clearly when my two children were babies and it seems like yesterday. Time now is flying by and it seems to be going by faster and faster. No sooner is summer here as it feels as though winter follows quickly behind.

I was talking to my hubby today and said to him “Do you realize that next year I will be the age my father was when he died?” My oldest brother was only a couple years older when he died. It puts time and age in perspective. I can’t imagine leaving the world now. Yet while I still feel young in spirit I realize I’m growing old! My children now have babies of their own! I want the passage of time to stop! I feel as though it is slipping away too quickly and I don’t like it!

I drove by the Cape Cod Melody tent the other night and “REO Speedwagon” was performing there. I remember them from my teens and loved their music. I looked at all the people walking into the show and thought “Holy cow do they look old!” Then I realized they are probably not much older than me! Yikes that was a real slap in the face.

YOUTH it goes by so quickly! And yet when you’re living it the time seems to be rolling by slowly.  There are periods when you wish your life away waiting for something to happen! Oh what a mistake. What I would take for those slow days once again! I don’t know that I would want to actually be younger again but I sure wish time were not going so fast! If I were a youngster once again the one thing I would do is savor my YOUTH more.

IMG_0639IMG_0643IMG_0652IMG_0668

BE SURE TO VISIT HTTP://OURWORDVIEW.BLOGSPOT.COM/ TO SEE BARB’S INTERPRETATION OF THE WORD OF THE WEEK!

~ Liz

