SANDPIPERS

SANDPIPERS

SANDPIPERS

Aren’t these the cutest little birds? Sandpipers. Love the way they run along the beach a million miles a minute on their long skinny legs.

A number of years ago while vacationing in Florida hubby and I would venture out on the beach each evening so I could photograph the sunset. Aside from the ghost crabs, which I could never catch in a picture, you always saw these little fellas scrambling down the beach. I think they were after the crabs that only came out of their holes at dusk and would make their way down to the water.  Kind of creepy to think that all day long you were laying on top of these crabs on the sand. Yikes. They were almost transparent and about 3-5 inches in width. Once they were moving they could scramble at a good clip.  Thank goodness they only came out at night otherwise I would never have gone down to the beach!

 

 

