Our Word View – Word of the Week = HUMBLE

SUNDAY POSTING ~ A COLLABORATIVE BLOG BETWEEN TWO FRIENDS (ME AND MY FRIEND BARB) WHO’S PATHS WERE SEPARATED FOR 20+ YEARS AND HAVE FOUND ONE ANOTHER ONCE AGAIN ONLINE. BOTH SHARE A LOVE OF THE OCEAN, NATURE, FAMILY, PETS AND OF COURSE PHOTOGRAPHY! A FONDNESS FOR INSPIRATIONAL SAYINGS HAS SPARKED THIS PROJECT. EACH SUNDAY WE WILL POST THE “WORD OF THE WEEK” AND OUR INDIVIDUAL INTERPRETATION OF THE WORD VIA TWO SEPARATE PHOTOS ON OUR BLOG “OUR WORD VIEW”

8/5/12 Word of the Week = HUMBLE

Let me start by saying this was a very, very difficult word to translate. Why I ever picked it I don’t know. I almost contacted Barb to say we need to pick a different one. Then I came across this picture and it hit me. Let me explain…

This is a picture of me when I was probably 12 or 13. I know I looked like a tom boy! But I wasn’t! Oh well, anyways… I am holding Kristen one of my nieces and sitting beside her is her older sister my other niece Kat. I look at this picture and I am now struck or humbled by the passage of time. During the past 6 days I have just welcomed into the world my first two grandchildren. Beautiful baby girls. Emma to my daughter and her husband. Morgan to my son and his girlfriend. And here I sit in this picture a child myself holding my baby nieces who are now themselves mothers with grown children of their own. I am humbled by how fast time seems to suddenly passing me by. I don’t feel old but time is now starting to pick up speed. For many years time just didn’t go fast enough! I wished it away. And now I want it to put on the brakes… slow it down a little so I can savor every wonderful minute that is slowly unfolding in front of me! I am truly looking forward to the next phase of my life. My children are grown and gone. They have now assumed the brunt of responsibility. Retirement for me is just around the corner and I am going to enjoy every single second. I want to spend time with my grandchildren, less time working and more time relaxing. 

The passage of time can be humbling but if my mother Dot is any example if you work at it you can slow it down a little!

Be sure to visit http://ourwordview.blogspot.com/ to see Barb’s interpretation of the word of the week!

